Eimear McBride || A girl is a half-formed thing

No doubt the most disturbing novel I read in a long time. Mostly due to the fact that through the use of stream of consciousness you get literally sucked into the mind and emotions of the main character. She starts her story while still in the womb and a gruesome story it is. A brother who ends up mentally depraved after having had a brain tumour, a mother who turns a religious fanatic, an uncle who rapes her when she is just a child, hiding away emotions by drinking and having mindless sex. When her brother gets sick again, McBride shifts into another gear. She writes in words, exclamations and at a certain point just in sounds. Dragging you into the turmoil the main character experiences. As a reader you get no rest at all, I literally had to put away A Girl at times because I just could not go on. I was dragged into the story and though I normally abhor stream of consiousness, McBride captivated me and I kept on reading. From womb to suicide: I crossed my fingers that A Girl would win the Bailey’s Women’s prize for Fiction, I am delighted that this non-mainstream book has won. I doubt that my local bookshop will sell it, I was glad I read it. Enjoying it would not be the right word, maybe experiencing every word and emotion.

About booksandliliane

I am an avid reader and love to share my love for literature. I have my own opinion on books that have been shortlisted, laureated by critics or are pushed on us by bookstores. I will try and explain why I like or do not like a book. Hopefully influencing you in your choice of books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

