Evie Wyld || All the Birds, Singing

I was not sure at first: did I really want to read a novel about a recluse who has just found one of her sheep with its throat slit? Chapter two made clear that quitting was not an option. I found myself transported to Australia at a crucial moment in main protagonist Jake’s life. It became clear that Wyld had chosen to tell Jake’s story in two parts: on a remote British island in the winter, starting now and going to the future and in hot sticky Australia going back in time. Wyld switches between the two every other chapter thereby making it possible to combine the look at Jake’s rather grim past and her apparently even grimmer future. As the book continues it becomes clearer that something in Jake’s past has gone terribly wrong. It appears as if the past has returned to haunt her but on the other hand, Jake lets down her defence ever so slightly. Wyld reveals her facts chapter by chapter and increases the tension expertly. I wanted to know what had happened to Jake: why had she run off to this remote island? How did she get the horrible scars on her back? One split second in her teens has determined her life and she has been running away ever since. An unlikely encounter with a man who is possibly even more unhappy subtly changes the options. At the very end we find Jake starting to trust this man. I closed the book a very content reader. It was well written, intriguing and left me with a sparkle of hope.

About booksandliliane

I am an avid reader and love to share my love for literature. I have my own opinion on books that have been shortlisted, laureated by critics or are pushed on us by bookstores. I will try and explain why I like or do not like a book. Hopefully influencing you in your choice of books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

