Emma Donoghue || Frog Music

Do I dare say that I was not really captivated by Donoghue’s novel? I found main character Blanche rather silly and impulsive. It was not until the very end that I started to find her convincing. I did not get that she would totally change her life because of a single remark. At the end I realised that Blanche was all about impulsiveness and determination to cling to her choices. She fell head over heels in love with her circus artist / lover / pimp, she fell for new best friend Jenny the moment she met her and when she finally had the sense to remove her baby from the home where he was taken care of, she instantaneously became a mother. Nevertheless I wonder whether Donoghue was not trying too much: combining a murder mystery with the psychology of relationships (between friends, mother and child and lovers), life changing choices to be made and San Francisco during an outbreak of the pocks and a heatwave. Blanche started discovering herself through Jenny, it would have been nice if this process has been worked out more intricately. In this case less could have been more or Donoghue should have written a real Victorian novel: twice as long with enough pages to elaborate on her characters and their colourful surroundings. I was left with the feeling that Frog Music was half done.

About booksandliliane

I am an avid reader and love to share my love for literature. I have my own opinion on books that have been shortlisted, laureated by critics or are pushed on us by bookstores. I will try and explain why I like or do not like a book. Hopefully influencing you in your choice of books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

