Nathan Filer || The Shock of the Fall

This book could have easily ended up a melodrama. Filer has managed to steer clear from big emotions and tearjerker material. He has written a clearheaded novel with insights into small, kind gestures. Main character Matt’s life is a drama: he lost his brother at a young age, is kept from school by his grief ridden mum and starts showing signs of schizophrenia in his early teens. He is up for a life moving in and out mental institutions. Because of his restraint Filer turns this subject into a lovingly written novel that describes Matt’s life in a respectful way. By using flashbacks Filer takes us along and reveals what has happened to Matt and how his brother Simon came to die. The most shocking aspect of the novel I found the realisation that Matt through taking medicines would lose his brother time and time again. His happiness in having his brother appear in his life always to be diminished by knowing that Simon had become a symptom of the schizophrenia. Beautifully written and touching, I loved it.

About booksandliliane

I am an avid reader and love to share my love for literature. I have my own opinion on books that have been shortlisted, laureated by critics or are pushed on us by bookstores. I will try and explain why I like or do not like a book. Hopefully influencing you in your choice of books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nathan Filer || The Shock of the Fall

  1. Col says:

    I loved this too. I read it between Christmas and New Year when I had time off work – and I literally couldn’t out it down!

Leave a Reply

