Joshua Ferris || To Rise Again at a Decent Hour

If you like Woody Allen, you probably will like Paul O’Rourke, dentist in New York – always nagging, embarrassing when taken along to meet the in-laws,  not particularly attentive to his staff, just too busy dealing with himself. You might have gathered that I personally do not care for Woody Allen. I was very relieved when Paul started to not look like the actor in the last 70-80 pages of the novel. Then I discovered that Ferris can write. Just too bad that I had to struggle through pages and pages of complaints, elaborations on baseball and not fitting in. Not getting the Woody Allen kind of fun, which this clearly is, I just did not get this novel. I could get Ferris telling us to genuinely take an interest in other people, admonishing us not to take religion too seriously and in general advising us to get a life. Maybe he even intended me to get as pissed off with Paul as his surroundings, in which goal he clearly succeeded. I just did not derive any pleasure in reading about his main character. I hope that the next Booker Prize nominee I’ve got planned does deliver. This one’s too Woody Allen for my taste.

About booksandliliane

I am an avid reader and love to share my love for literature. I have my own opinion on books that have been shortlisted, laureated by critics or are pushed on us by bookstores. I will try and explain why I like or do not like a book. Hopefully influencing you in your choice of books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

