John Williams ||Stoner

I postponed reading Stoner at first, because it quickly became one of these novels you had to read and love. Since I do not like being pushed into liking a novel I decided to leave it be for the time being. When I finally decided to start reading Stoner I knew from the first page on that everybody was right: what a beautiful novel! Not a lot happens in Stoner. We follow an average man who is given the opportunity to go to college and keep on following him through his life: his career, his marriage, his love for his child, his lover, his growing love for literature, his failure to stand up for himself and his loved ones, his unexpected stand when his principles are at stake. Stoner could have been any average person with average dreams and ambitions. About his dreams and ambitions however a beautiful novel has been written. Williams has managed this by keeping a slow pace (for some reason I could hear Jeremy Irons’voice reading Stoner aloud whilst I was reading), by creating absolutely stunning sentences with beautiful imagery and by allowing us to step into Stoners’ mind and feelings. Whereas in All That Is by Salter, a novel that resembles Stoner in certain aspects, readers were purposely kept at distance, Williams pulls us into his tale about Stoner. I was made welcome into Stoner’s life and I appreciated every minute of it. I know for certain that I will go back to this novel, I will want to enjoy its sentences from time to time. Stoner will in time become a dear friend.

Stoner

About booksandliliane

I am an avid reader and love to share my love for literature. I have my own opinion on books that have been shortlisted, laureated by critics or are pushed on us by bookstores. I will try and explain why I like or do not like a book. Hopefully influencing you in your choice of books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to John Williams ||Stoner

  1. BookerTalk says:

    I bought this one for my husband. I was cheating really since I wanted to read it myself but had promised not to buy anything new for a few months. I’ve been waiting patiently for him to read it so I can get my hands on it but he is such a slow reader it’s frustrating.

  2. I hope he finishes soon. It fits slow reading, though steady slow reading visibly turning pages. Stoner is worth the wait.

    • The novel or the comment? In the Netherlands nobody could stop talking about this novel for the last 18 months. It started a search for lost classics and all of Williams’s novels have been re-published over the year.

Leave a Reply

