Amy Bloom || Lucky Us

The title is obviously meant to be ironic: half-sisters Iris and Eva don’t get lucky until the last page. In mere 234 pages they are being confronted with a dying mother, a mother who deserts her own daughter, a father who steals from his daughters, a Hollywood career that is shattered because of a lesbian love affair, not being able to finish school despite being very clever, living in New York and working there as a governess and tarot card reader, betraying the German husband of the cook you have fallen in love with, stealing a child for this cook, the cook accidentally setting fire to herself and not surviving this, burning your hands seriously, moving to England to be treated, leaving your younger sister with the boy, etc. etc. etc. etc. Add to this that not everything is plausible (why couldn’t the two sisters have gone and lived with the very well to do grandparents of Iris?) and that characters remain stuck in stereotypes (the Hollywood aspiring actress, the clever ugly younger sister, the warm Italian cook, etc. etc. etc.) and you might understand that Lucky Us made me feel very tired. Bloom also added criticism on the way her country behaved towards German and Japanese Americans during World War 2. I liked the fact that she described how the cook’s German husband was treated, again I did not understand why he – after having been deported to Germany – had to re-invent himself as a Jew. I suppose it was  meant to be some kind of irony – a German surviving by claiming to be a Jew. As far as I am concerned this novel is ‘over the top’.  I did not have to force myself to read it, I kind of enjoyed it but this was one novel that could have done with less content.

Lucky Us

About booksandliliane

I am an avid reader and love to share my love for literature. I have my own opinion on books that have been shortlisted, laureated by critics or are pushed on us by bookstores. I will try and explain why I like or do not like a book. Hopefully influencing you in your choice of books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Amy Bloom || Lucky Us

  1. Col says:

    It reminds me of Garth Stein’s Art of Racing In The Rain, where the main character had so much bad luck and adversity to overcome that after a while he started to really irritate me!

  2. I do not know Art of Racing in the Rain but I can imagine being irritated with someone who has too much bad luck. It’s also an art to know where to stop.

Leave a Reply

