Jane Green || Saving Grace

Halfway through Saving Grace the novel all of a sudden loses its edge. Green starts of by describing the relationship between Grace and husband Ted, a spoilt and conceited writer who has her escaping the house because of his terrible tantrums. He might not physically abuse his wife, his verbal abuse is not acceptable. Grace however does accept it using all the typical excuses of abused women. Enters Beth, the saving angel PA. She brings order into their lives and manages them perfectly. Grace realises slightly too late that Beth is managing herself into Grace’s life, in a rather nasty way. Beth is not satisfied seducing Ted, she is out to destroy Grace. On the verge of being admitted to a psych ward, Grace escapes and runs of to her home country and Cornwall. There to be reunited with a once slightly nerdy friend who has turned into a sexy hunk. The edgy novel all of a sudden turns into chick lit with a predictable outcome. I do not mind chick lit, it can be great fun but Green led me to believe her novel would be more. It made me wonder whether she got scared of her own edginess and fled onto safer ground. A pity, I would have loved to have Grace exposing the woman who tried to ruin her life, thereby preventing her from ruining the next woman’s life, instead of running of with her yummy boy friend.

About booksandliliane

I am an avid reader and love to share my love for literature. I have my own opinion on books that have been shortlisted, laureated by critics or are pushed on us by bookstores. I will try and explain why I like or do not like a book. Hopefully influencing you in your choice of books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jane Green || Saving Grace

  1. Col says:

    I think I might have read this book if it had progressed the way you suggested but the slide to chick lit wouldn’t be me thing at all! So will give this a miss!

Leave a Reply

