Megan Abbott || The Fever

The Fever consists of two layers: the thriller about a small town in which a group of young girls mysteriously takes ill and the hysterical reactions of class mates and parents. On hearing that two girls have been taken to hospital with mysterious complaints parents start connecting their symptoms with the inoculation against cervical cancer the girls had had recently. Some pinpoint the blame on the heavily polluted lake close to the school, whereas others go as far as to blame world pollution on the whole. To the readers it becomes apparent though that Lise and Gabby, the first victims, and their friends Deenie and Skye know more than they let out.  Up til the moment Lise and Gabby got sick, the four girls merely suffered from all the problems girls their age encounter: boy friend trouble, losing your virginity or not, losing life long friendships and parents who just do not get it. Abbott makes a good job of paralleling the growing discomfort of Deenie with the growing hysteria among the parents. The truth when it is finally told kind of disappoints, the hysteria is left somewhere in the middle. Since The Fever is definitely a thrilling novel I will not reveal why Lise and Gabby were taken ill, I would not want to spoil the fun for future readers. That I would have preferred Abbott to embroider more on the hysterical reactions of the parents, in this way delivering on the promiss of a more literary novel, does not mean that The Fever does not make for an exciting read.

thefever

About booksandliliane

I am an avid reader and love to share my love for literature. I have my own opinion on books that have been shortlisted, laureated by critics or are pushed on us by bookstores. I will try and explain why I like or do not like a book. Hopefully influencing you in your choice of books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Megan Abbott || The Fever

  1. Col says:

    I read her book The End of Everything after I read someone’s post about it – I enjoyed it so I will add this to my list of books to look out for

  2. It’s a shame this was disappointing as this type of tale has so much scope e.g The Crucible, and is still so relevant (I think a film about the Bridgend suicides is due out this year – admittedly that’s not hysteria but still groups of teenagers engaged in a collective behaviour that baffles & disturbs). The cover is very effective though!

Leave a Reply

