A Bailey’s Short List recap: Anne Tyler || A Spool of Blue Thread

https://booksandliliane.wordpress.com/2015/05/06/anne-tyler-a-spool-of-blue-thread/

A Spool of Blue Thread is a beautiful novel about an American family that stays clear from too much feel good by adding some disorders into the family. At the end Tyler adds the real nasty’s: she sheds some light on the family history and blows the heroic lives of the ancestors to pieces. Their ways and loves turn out to be less romantic than thought by the entire family. This second part is what makes A Spool a surprising novel. Whether good enough to compete with her fierce competitors I’m not sure. I’d be surprised if she were announced the winner next week.

Blue Thread

About booksandliliane

I am an avid reader and love to share my love for literature. I have my own opinion on books that have been shortlisted, laureated by critics or are pushed on us by bookstores. I will try and explain why I like or do not like a book. Hopefully influencing you in your choice of books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

