A Bailey’s Prize Short List Recap: Sarah Waters || The Paying Guest

https://booksandliliane.wordpress.com/2014/11/22/sarah-waters-the-paying-guests/

A terrific novel combining crime (a murder) with a serious theme. It will not come as a surprise that in Waters’ case this has to do with women being powerless to decide their own fate let alone be allowed to follow their heart and live with another woman. Characters and plot are utterly convincing, the novel is well-written and structured. The Paying Guest is definitely a good contender for the Bailey’s.

paying guest

About booksandliliane

I am an avid reader and love to share my love for literature. I have my own opinion on books that have been shortlisted, laureated by critics or are pushed on us by bookstores. I will try and explain why I like or do not like a book. Hopefully influencing you in your choice of books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Bailey’s Prize Short List Recap: Sarah Waters || The Paying Guest

  1. BookerTalk says:

    I’ve not read anything by Sarah Walters – I keep thinking she would be someone good to dip into but am not sure whether this book is the right one. I hear so many varying reviews of how good it is

Leave a Reply

