Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction Shortlist Recap: my favourite

To those who follow BooksandLiliane my personal favourite will not come as a surprise. Though she had tough competition, I find that How To Be Both by Ali Smith is a league of it’s own. The ingenious way Smith structured her novel, the way she kept on surprising me, the fact that I was sad to have reached the end of How To Be Both – I just wanted to keep on reading. I still find ‘my’ start of the novel, the painter’s perspective, to be the one way to start it, though I have heard many people proclaim the same of the young woman’s perspective. Smith managed to make both parts equally potent. I keep my fingers crossed and hope that in 2015 the prize will not again escape Smith.

https://booksandliliane.wordpress.com/2014/10/05/ali-smith-how-to-be-both/

83.Ali Smith-How to be both jacket

About booksandliliane

I am an avid reader and love to share my love for literature. I have my own opinion on books that have been shortlisted, laureated by critics or are pushed on us by bookstores. I will try and explain why I like or do not like a book. Hopefully influencing you in your choice of books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction Shortlist Recap: my favourite

  1. BookerTalk says:

    My copy also begins with the painters story. It felt a bit odd initially. It I do think it was the more interesting of the openings

Leave a Reply

