Guilty Pleasures

In 2016 I read and discussed one book every week in BooksandLiliane. On Facebook I sometimes let know that I also had my guilty pleasures, the novels I read just for fun. They are the ones I guzzle up or breath through, mostly enjoying myself. I am absolutely addicted to Elizabeth George, Christopher Brookmyre and Robert Galbraith. I therefore counted myself lucky with new novels in 2016. Inspector Lynley and his Barbara Havers do not as yet bore me, Jack Parlabane is as shrewd as ever and Cormoran Strike appears to be a permanent addition to my group of favourite detectives. For some reason I decided to start on Nicci French’s series on  shrink Frieda this year. They were well written, Frieda was intriguing, nevertheless slightly too predictable. During my stay in Canada I was told to read Louise Penny and her version of the Midsummer Murders (one of her novels is situated in Quebec where I was staying at that time). Her inspector Gamache is the French-Canadian Barnany; though stationed in Montreal he finds himself solving murders in a quintessential French-Canadian village where corpses have a tendency to gather. Spending that much time with the villagers, Gamache becomes friends with several of them. Each novel gives Penny the opportunity to add more information on their lives, thereby turning them into old friends. With any luck part seven is going to arrive at the library soon, I cannot wait to continue. Another series I threw myself at this year is definitely a guilty pleasure: Darynda Jones’s Grave-series. What can I say: a well-built ADHD-heroine who happens to be in love with satan’s favourite son, sent to earth to destroy her: the actual Grim Reaper who helps the death to find the entrance to paradise. Need I say more? When talking about falling in love Kathy Fforde is my absolute favourite. In her novels the heroine naturally falls into the arms of her intended after having spent some 250 pages wondering whether things will ever turn out right. Though lacking the fun-factor of the first novels, Kathy Fforde still manages to enchant me. Love, romance and the quintessential Britishness do it for me every time.

About booksandliliane

I am an avid reader and love to share my love for literature. I have my own opinion on books that have been shortlisted, laureated by critics or are pushed on us by bookstores. I will try and explain why I like or do not like a book. Hopefully influencing you in your choice of books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guilty Pleasures

  1. BookerTalk says:

    Such a coincidence – i had never heard of Christopher Brookmyre until last night when I friend made a gift of one of his title to my husband.

Leave a Reply

