E.O. Chirovici || The Book of Mirrors

The Book of Mirrors has been applauded in my country. On television it was recommended and praised. As you may imagine I therefore started reading the novel with high expectations. They, unfortunately, were not fulfilled. The Book of Mirrors is well written and constructed, tension is built up expertly, but there is a large number of novels in the genre of psychological thriller of which can be said the same.

In the Book of Mirrors a cold case is investigated once more. It becomes clear that all those involved have their own view on what has happened. Those involved give their account, blame the person they think guilty of murder, and neglect to mention significant details. At the end those forgotten details solve the case.

Was I intrigued? Did I want to keep on reading in order to find out who committed the murder? Well, yes. Was I bored? No. Is this one of the best psychological novels I’ve ever read? Certainly not. The novel lacks depth in the characters and merely toys with clichés of the nerdy mathematician, the attractive overly ambitious psychology student, her ugly duckling friend, the arrogant scientist and the shrewd criminal. Their account of the case sticks to what pertains to the clichés and never borders on the surprising, on the unexpected. Neither was I overly impressed with the clue. It was clever but hardly impressed me by its originality or ingenuity.

Do I advise you not to read The Book of Mirrors? Hardly, the novel is well written and entertaining. Do not start reading with high expectations of its quality however. The Book of Mirrors is decent not excellent.

mirros

About booksandliliane

I am an avid reader and love to share my love for literature. I have my own opinion on books that have been shortlisted, laureated by critics or are pushed on us by bookstores. I will try and explain why I like or do not like a book. Hopefully influencing you in your choice of books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

