Maria Sempre || Today It Will Be Different

I read on the internet that Today It Will Be Different will be made into a movie starring Julia Roberts. I dare wager a bet that she’ll run around with uncombed hair, no (visible) make-up and clothes that would have had her sent to Trinny and Susannah or Stacy and Clinton in real-life. How else to show that main character Eleanor is having a hard time of living life? With her caring husband, her failed career, her growing son, the energetic younger parents of his class mates, her pushy friends, the not-cool city she has had to move to and mostly, herself. Oh dear, life does get tricky when gravity takes a hold on your body, when wrinkles appear and no longer can be made to disappear and when younger males do no longer consider you flirt-worthy. I was supposed to have been charmed and amused by Eleanor and her efforts to improve life. Sorry, I found her obnoxious and too into herself. She only got interesting when Sempre started revealing the facts about her troublesome relationship with her younger sister. At that moment Sempre, who can actually write very well, got me and I wanted to keep on reading for the first moment. What a pity about 1/5th of the novel was dedicated to Eleanor and her sister, 4/5th is mainly a struggling main character not accepting a fairly good life. What a pity the publisher did not advice Sempre to focus on the two sisters, that could have been a promising novel. This one did not do it for me.

Today

 

About booksandliliane

I am an avid reader and love to share my love for literature. I have my own opinion on books that have been shortlisted, laureated by critics or are pushed on us by bookstores. I will try and explain why I like or do not like a book. Hopefully influencing you in your choice of books to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maria Sempre || Today It Will Be Different

  1. BookerTalk says:

    I think I can safely skip this one in that case. thanks for saving me money and time

Leave a Reply

